Gear Review – Black Diamond Trail Women’s Trekking Poles – Pair

Last day on the Pennine Way, England, during a 28 Mile stint 2013
Bought: November 2012
Miles Covered: 500+ Miles
My height: 5 foot 5  
My Weight : 15 Stone + backpack
Black Diamond Trail Women's Trekking Poles - Pair
  • 3-section poles provide patented FlickLock adjustability and solid, slip-free security
  • Simply flick the lock open, set the length and flick the lock closed—a quick, tight, and easily accomplished task, even with gloved hands
  • Soft, dual-density foam grips and extensions have padded wrist straps for security
  • Poles extend from 23 to 49 in.
  • The Black Diamond Trail trekking poles include low profile baskets for general use and powder baskets for use in the snow

I found the straps annoying so chopped them off in a fit of ultra-lite hiking verve. Apart from that there’s nothing negative to say about them, they support my weight reliably and have never let me down. I’m quite a heavy girl, especially while carrying a backpack and not once did the extensions collapse on themselves and I’ve barely walked a mile without their help. On a number of occasions I’ve nearly fallen and placed all my weight on one of them, they bent slightly but held. The handles allow you to grip securely and in varied grips while the textured foam handles prevent you from slipping from sweat.The heights are easily adjustable and show no sign of failing, and make it easy to pack them away once they’ve been used.There is no shock absorption but I’ve never felt jarred by them, perhaps this would not be the case if I were walking a long distance on tarmac or concrete.
I bought these poles because a shop keeper had told me they’d be needed in the Blue Mountains. Before I used them I suspected they were either for the wimpy of elderly but not strong hikers such as I’d be…eventually. Within half an hour of been dropped off on Morton Island I’d changed my mind and relied on them on every hike since in England and Australia. They are essential when crossing difficult or slippy land, they are also very useful in relieving you of some of the weight of the rucksack. They can pull you up a hill and assist when your trying to descend one safely. More that that, when your in Australia or anywhere else that’s inhabited with poisonous snakes, they provide a barrier and protected obstruction which might make all the difference on either side of your legs.As for picking up a stick from the bush instead…why would you when both poles together weight only 1oz and can be packed away when not needed?

Descending down into the valley in the Blue Mountains 2013
Specification Description
Best use Hiking
Shaft material Aluminum
Grip material Foam
Adjustable Yes
Maximum length (in.) 49 inches
Minimum length (in.) 23 inches
Maximum length (cm) 125 centimeters
Minimum length (cm) 59 centimeters
Locking mechanism External lever lock
Shock absorbing No
Camera mount No
Weight per pair 1 lb. 1 oz.
Gender Women’s
Crossing a shallow creeks in the Australian bush 2012

Leave a comment