Gear Review – Scarpa Ranger II ActTX Womens Walking Boots

 Bought – May 2013 
Distance – 300 Miles
 Price – 160.00
  Shoe Size – 7 


PROS

As advertised they are waterproof and insulating, protecting you from the path with impressively thick and hard soles. These boots are hard and built to last. They look like they’ve been taken a strolls over the fields not 300 miles over moor land, through marshlands and gravel lanes and roads. Scarpa boots are designed to survive pretty much everything. The only problem is my feet might not survive them over the course of another walk.

 CONS

I bought these in preparation for the Pennine Way. They are heavy boots, the ankles cushioned and very well padded fixing your foot in place. They advertise that “Auto-fit foam inserts in heel area provide perfect foot hold and increased comfort” and for the first twenty miles this is fine, and while they aren’t as cushy as they appear in the shop they seem fit for the job. By the fortieth mile however things go down hill. First its important to note that I have wide feet and not dainty skinny ankles. I suspect shoes are like a kiss and its not about how skilled one person is but how they fit together. These boots and I were never meant to be. For the entire Pennine Way, 250 Miles, they game me hell blistered my left heel and compressed it so that it could hardly carry any weight. I only carried on my heavily plastering it and wearing a supportive bandage. I assumed I’d just not broken them in enough, that my feet had just not hardened to the trail, but since then I’ve come to realize that it wasn’t me it what the boots. On the Cotswold Way, a 100 mile walk, they’d given me five blisters on one foot and three on the other by the second day, and soon after my heel began to hurt for the first time since the Pennines. I’ve concluded that the constraints around the heel compressed my ankle too much, as my feet were simply too wide. Even if they did fit well its also worth noting just how heavy these boots are, and once they’re wet they drag.

Upper Material: Leather
Waterproof: Yes
Waterproof Technology: GORE-TEX®
Height: Boot Cut
Insole: Viscoflex Activ fit insole with memory foam
Midsole: Hi-Flex
Sole Type: Vibram®
Stiffness: Soft, for low level walks on defined trials
Lacing Type: Standard Lace Up
Boot Grade: B0 – not suitable for crampons
Ideal Crampon Rating: Not Crampon Compatible


CONCLUSION

I wouldn’t buy another Scarpa boot. In fact I took quite a lot of pleasure in selling them on ebay and using the money to buy myself a forty pound pair of Trespass walking boots. These Trespass boots are light, waterproof and an instant match. I took them on a thirty mile hike and didn’t get a single blister. I hated how heavy Scarpa boots were, hated putting them on in the morning and there are simply not enough plasters in the world to make them comfortable.

Leave a comment